Tempus Fugit

Today was one of those days where nothing went according to plan. I woke up late for starters, then managed to accomplish almost nothing I set out to do today.

That’s life at Camp, unfortunately. Something always crops up. Today we were supposed to get the boats prepped so we can put them in the water tomorrow. However, storms over the weekend messed up our power, and a large part of the Day was running around trying to do damage control.

I also had to go up to the dentist to pay off a bill, which I did do, but the reason for me actually having to physically go and be present at the dentist (problems with the card I wanted to pay with) were not resolved.

I also still have to pack for my vacation which starts on Saturday. :q

There is still so much to do before Summer Camp starts, so much to do before we go on vacation. And there is only so much time and energy to go round.

It didn’t help that we started off with a storm this morning, which felt nice, but was almost immediately replaced with an all-day outdoor sauna. Everything was sticky and moist and swampy and steamy and I just felt gross, which doesn’t help my productivity.

At one point I walked into one of the maintenance buildings to get a hose for someone, and I had to navigate past a snow-blower to do it. It felt, to me, only a few weeks had passed since we had removed the blower from the mini-tractor which it mounts to, only a few weeks from when we were battling snow and slush to sweating profusely and fighting off swarms of biting bugs.

Where, I wondered, just had the time gone?

Of course we’ve been pretty busy this spring, and we have actually accomplished quite a lot in our “off” season. And yet, once again, Summer has snuck up on us, and we’re left racing to keep up.

Still. It’s job security, i suppose. That’s what I tell myself, anyway.

And then I found out the spigot I was supposed to hook the hose up to has a crack in the pipe and has to be repaired. -_-

Put it on the list….

*

Author: cecilcountyenglishman

Ue Mistake Not My Current State Of Joshing Gentle Peevishness For The Awesome And Terrible Majesty Of The Towering Seas Of Ire That Are Themselves The Mere Milquetoast Shallows Fringing My Vast Oceans Of Wrath.

Leave a comment